FIFA World Cup Golden Boot Winners List

The FIFA world cup is held once every four years which is considered one of the toughest events that allow the players to showcase their best skills. When it comes to awarding the top players, the Golden Boot award comes first. The top player who scores the most goals wins this prestigious award. However, if two players finish as top scorers, then there will be a tie-breaker goes to select the eligible player who has played the least amount of time scoring a higher goal average.

Here is a list of the FIFA world cup golden boot winners. 

  1. Eusébio – (Portugal ) 9 Goals – 1966 FIFA World Cup 

Eusébio is regarded as one of the greatest football players in Portugal. He scored some outstanding and decisive goals throughout the 1966 world cup. Due to his performance, he won the Golden Boot award in that world cup.

  1. Gerd Müller – (Germany) 10 Goals – 1970 FIFA World Cup 

Gerd Müller is the greatest football player in Germany who always remained for his outstanding performance throughout his career. He scored 10 goals in the 1970 FIFA world cup and due to that, he won the prestigious Golden Boot award. Not only Germany but he is regarded as one of the finest footballers in history.

  1. Ronaldo Luís Nazário de Lima – (Brazil) 8 Goals – 2002 FIFA World Cup 

Ronaldo Luís Nazário de Lima or simply Ronaldo is one of the greatest soccer players in the world. His performance on the pitch used to scare his opponents when he was on the pitch, making him one of the greatest strikers in the world. Due to his goal against Germany in the finals, Brazil won their fifth world cup trophy and he awarded with prestigious Golden Boot.

  1. Gary Lineker – (England) 6 Goals – 1986 FIFA World Cup 

Gary Lineker was the first England footballer who won the prestigious Golden Boot. In the year 1986, this English forwarder scored six goals and due to that, he won this award. Though England had to return from the quarter-finals still he won this award.

  1. Miroslav Klose – (Germany) 5 Goals – 2006 FIFA World Cup 

Miroslav Klose is one of the greatest German players who showed his outstanding skill and sportsmanship during the 2006 FIFA world cup. He still holds the record for scoring more goals in the FIFA world cup tournaments. With his spectacular 15 goals in the world cup, he has overtaken Ronaldo as the top scorer in FIFA world cups.

  1. Thomas Müller- (Germany) 5 Goals- 2010 FIFA World Cup 

The incredible performances of Thomas Müller make him one of the most popular German players. He kept his consistency through the 2014 world cup that Germany won. The five goals he scored during the 2010 world cup earned him the prestigious Golden Boot award.

  1. Harry Kane – (England) 6 Goals – 2018 FIFA World Cup

Harry Kane won the prestigious Golden Boot award due to his outstanding performance of 6 goals in the 2018 FIFA world cup. This makes him one of the most famous English football players.

Leave a Comment